Tips for Visiting Starbucks Reserve Roastery & Tasting Room

Ciao!

In one of my recent posts [here], I told you to come back and visit as you saw me take a million and one steps [or what seemed to be that many steps] to the Starbucks Reserve Roastery & Tasting Room – yes, the walk was terrible, but so worth it.

I spent eight years of my life working at Starbucks.  Falling in love with coffee.  Something I hated before Starbucks.  Meeting new friends, coworkers and customers.  Making beverages was fun and it’s something that will always be a part of me and something I will keep in my heart forever.  That being said, Seattle is the mothership of COFFEE!  It was one of the main reasons for a trip to Seattle!  Obviously, I had to visit the ORIGINAL STARBUCKS STORE and Reserve Roastery.

Everyone should go to the Original Starbucks at least once.  Do I need to go again?  No.  It looks like every other Starbucks, except 27 times busier and chaotic.  Definitely go once to say you did it.. and buy a souvenir and a latte!

The one downfall to the original store is that the staff wasn’t as friendly as I would’ve imagined.  As a former Barista to Starbucks, I know that Starbucks prides itself in exceptional customer service and I lived and breathed that motto, other than that, no other complaints.

Lo and behold, the O R I G I N A L STARBUCKS STORE!

DSC_0671

Yes, before you enter – you will wait in line.

DSC_0674DSC_0688DSC_0692DSC_1287

Said souvenir…

img_2788

And now, the journey to the Roastery continues:

DSC_0955

One of my favorite parts about Seattle was all the greens/shrubbery I saw. It’s the best of both worlds: city life meets nature.

DSC_0961

Starbucks mission statement!  We were getting clooooose..

“Our mission: to inspire and nurture the human spirit – one person, one cup and one neighborhood at a time.”

DSC_0957DSC_0964DSC_0967DSC_0971

Notice the coffee going up the tube.

DSC_0975

On the conveyor belt…

DSC_0979DSC_1005DSC_1007DSC_1011DSC_1008

On to the good stuff // my favorite part about traveling; food and drinks!

DSC_0991

Coffee flight!

DSC_0996DSC_0999DSC_1001DSC_1018

8 oz. bag of coffee for $40.00 – just so everyone knows how wild it is.  Winner of Cup of Excellence 2015.

Tips for visiting the Starbucks Reserve Roastery and Tasting Room:

  1. Go early.. like as soon as they open.  It gets PACKED and finding a table and chair for you and your friends/family will be difficult
  2. Step out of your comfort zone – their menu is wild and unlike any other Starbucks menu
  3. Relating to #2, get more than one drink!  Nothing will be worse than boarding your flight home and thinking, “I should have tried ‘The Lookout.'”  It’s not everyday you’re at the Roastery in Seattle.
    1. My friends got three drinks, I had two because I had a lot of food and felt sick
  4. TRY THEIR FOOD. Unfortunately, I can’t remember the chefs name, but it’s good.
  5. Like I said, buy souvenirs.
  6. Talk to the Partners working – they are so, so, so friendly and so, so, so knowledgable on Starbucks and the Roastery.  They are passionate about what they do and would love to help you.
  7. This isn’t a quick stop.  You will be here for at least an hour – we were there for 2-3 hours.  It’s a tourist hot spot.  Expect to wait and get frustrated by slow walkers.

 

One of the Baristas who waited on me told me that everyone working at the Roastery was hand picked from a different store in the U.S. – I thought that was cool!

2 thoughts on “Tips for Visiting Starbucks Reserve Roastery & Tasting Room

  1. Great list of tips. I would add “Don’t forget there’s a downstairs bar”. They have all kinds of preparation methods available. I was able to get a delicious Brazilian Chemex followed by a Colombian through the Clover. So much to see there. You’re right, it’s definitely not a short trip.

Leave a Reply

