21C Museum Hotel – Cincinnati, OH

Normally, I’m a pretty lowkey kinda girl when it comes to Valentine’s Day, but this year it was an extravaganza. I saw that it fell on a weekend and I made the decision that we needed to go ham.

One thing you should know about me: I love, love, love LOVE hotels (especially hotel beds). We decided to stay in downtown Cincinnati at 21C Museum Hotel.  21C is a is a boutique hotel and a contemporary art museum.  Boutique hotels are my favorite – there is so much character and charm within.  It makes for a great experience because there’s always something to do: stroll through the museum, hang out on their classy rooftop bar or dine at their restaurant, Metropole.  A plus: the staff is always friendly and welcoming (I mean.. they should be anywhere and everywhere.. but you know how it goes).

As soon as you walk through the doors, you are greeted by friendly faces and art work – the desk was a piece of art: a glass top with tiny figurines inside of it.

I mentioned earlier that I love hotel beds – their beds are equivalent to what I would imagine sleeping on a cloud is like.  The bathroom had different body parts engraved into the wall, as well as in 3D form.  We had a field day with that.  Laura Lee Brown and Steve Wilson believed that art could be an economic driver and it was est. in 2006.

They have several locations and they all feature different art galleries: I have also stayed in Louisville’s 21C… I guess you could say I’m a regular (or really want to be).

 

We made our night out on the town and went to Scotti’s for dinner.  It’s a little Italian restaurant that’s been around since the 1900’s that we’ve been wanting to try for a straight year.  The restaurant was quaint and had such a cozy atmosphere.

scottis1

scottis2

scottis3

Candle on the left was dripping with multi-colored waxes.

We spent the rest of the evening with our friends, which made Valentine’s Day even more special because not only did I go on a date with Chase, but we spent it with our friends as well 🙂

museum1

What you’re looking at is up through the clear ceiling, you can see this fun little light fixture, but you could also go up 10 floors and look down at it.

museum2

museum3

museum4

The yellow penguins are iconic to their museum locations – different colors at different locations.  Louisville has red penguins, FYI.

Due to it being Valentine’s Day… I had to request something cheesy and that was adding rose petals to the bed.  Chase probably didn’t care that much, but being the hopeless romantic that I am, I had to request it.  Again: the crew working at 21C are amazing.

bed1

bed2

bed4

Leave a Reply

