SIMPLE Cheddar Ranch Chicken!

It’s 6 o’clock somewhere… aka dinner!  I’ve really missed blogging and talking and sharing some yummy recipes with you guys! I’ve been crazy busy with school, work, the graduation process, and trying to find a job! So last night, I was like “I’m gonna make some dinner tomorrow!” I went back and forth between a couple of recipes that sounded great and decided I would make CHEDDAR RANCH CHICKEN. 

finalzoomin

I’m literally the number one fan of ranch dressing.  I joke about drinking it through a straw, but who really knows if I’m kidding at this point.  This is seriously the easiest recipe, it ONLY has a 10 minute prep time.  Usually the last thing I want to do is slave away in the kitchen for over an hour after I get off of work and back from class, so this was perfect. 

What I also like about cooking and I often forget.. no joke I forget this like everyday.. is that it is so much more affordable to prepare a meal at home as opposed to going out to eat.  Chase and I are really guilty of this and go out to eat like 2-4 times a week.  It’s truly sickening.  You probably even have most of these ingredients at home!  I had to run to the store to buy some chicken, cheese, and a ranch dressing packet and it cost a whopping $7.  Are you kidding?!  This was probably a $12 meal and it fed three people and could feed more!  I’m always mind blown when I do the math.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1/2 cup of mayonnaise (however, my parents and I thought next time to use a little less), but try it and see what you think)
  • 1/2 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese (try saying that 3x fast.. I can barely say it the first time)
  • 1 packet of Ranch dressing and seasoning mix (1 ounce)
  • 3 cloves of garlic (minced)
  • 8 boneless, skinless chicken thighs, however… I only used 5-6! They were pretty small, 8 is a little much for 3 people.
  • salt n’ peppa
  • 1/3 cup Panko bread crumbs (which I love…)

INSTRUCTIONS:

1)  Grab a baking dish (oven safe) that will be spacious enough for your chicken thighs and coat it with nonstick spray.

2) Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.

3) Grab a bowl and mix together the mayonnaise, cheddar cheese, ranch packet, and your minced garlic.  I just used a fork, I felt like it worked a little bitter than a whisk.

TIP: I would suggest mixing the ranch and mayonnaise together first + then add the garlic + then add the cheese.  We noticed we were getting some bites that were tangier than others.

photo1

It kind of looks like macaroni..

4.) Lay the chicken thighs in the baking pan and sprinkle pepper and salt on them to your liking. Please don’t lick the raw chicken, just use your eyeballs!

5.) Now you’re going to scoop the mayonnaise concoction onto each piece of chicken.  Once I used it all up, I went ahead and used a fork to kind of spread the mixture around on to the chicken so it wasn’t just a “glob.”

TIP: be sure to wash your hands after handling raw chicken!!!!!!!!!!!!!

photo2

6.) Once you’ve kind of smoothed the mixture down onto the chicken with your fork, get your panko bread crumbs and just sprinkle them all over the chicken/mixture.

photo3

7.) Let those bake for about 25-30 minutes.

TIP: cover it with tin foil to prevent the panko bread crumbs from burning.

I decided to pair the chicken with a side of pasta.  I just threw in some butter, salt, garlic powder, basil, and fresh parsley.

 Fun fact about me:More of a lazy fact, but a lot of times when I watch TV I just make the biggest bowl of buttered noodles with garlic powder and salt and it’s just sooo good!

photo4pasta

8.) After about 25-30 minutes, I suggest removing the dish (with oven mitts…..) and cutting into the thickest piece of chicken to make sure it’s fully cooked all the way. I don’t want anyone getting sick!

My dad had to help me with this.  Believe it or not, this is only about the 2nd time I’ve made chicken!

The first time was when I tried to make chicken wings… and Chase and I didn’t have wing sauce.. and I thought salt was red pepper.. so you can imagine how that tasted………….

VOILA!!

finalzoomin

finalzoomout

Side note: It’s a little tangy at first, but overall really good! I didn’t even notice the tanginess after a few bites.  Go ham on the bread crumbs!

Inspired by DamnDelicious!

Leave a Reply

