EASY POTATO SOUP RECIPE!

With it being fall and all, I thought this was the perfect time to share with you guys my favorite potato soup recipe!  I learned how to make this in my eighth grade home economics class, which was well over a decade ago (that’s gross!!)  My friends and I used to get together and make this after school and we would literally like quadruple the batch.  Not only is this my favorite, it’s also really easy and quick.  Not only am I sharing with you this recipe, I’m also sharing with you my comfy fall outfit of the day.

TIME:

  • Prep time: 10ish minutes
  • Cook time: 10ish minutes

WHAT YOU NEED:

  • 2 potatoes
  • 1/4 of an onion
  • 1 chicken bouillon cube
  • 1 cup of water
  • 1/3 cup of flour
  • 1.5-2 cups of milk (depending on how thin/thick you like it)
  • 3 tablespoons of butter (or more! if you love those carbs, like me)
  • your choice of seasonings
    • I use paprika and basil

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Wash your potatoes (duh) and then peel them and then chop them up into little squares.  Next, you are going to cut up about a fourth of an onion into little pieces (I cry more over cutting onions than I do a break up)  After all that is said and done, you’re going to put the potato/onion pieces into a microwavable bowl.  You will pour the water and add the chicken bouillon cube into the bowl as well.  Next, you’re going to cover the bowl with saran wrap like so:

chopped potatoes

    2.  Once that’s covered and you have left a little room, you’re going to throw that bad boy into the microwave (don’t literally throw it… that would be a mess) and you’re going to microwave it for ten minutes!  That gives you time to set up your next step, you’re going to melt your 3 tablespoons of butter in a pot, once it’s melted, you’re going to add your flour and you’re going to whisk it until it creates a paste like substance:

potato paste

     3.  Once it’s pretty pasty, you’re going to slowly add your milk and continue stirring it so it thickens up, (if you like your soup creamier/thicker, I would suggest maybe doing a little less than 1.5 cups of milk. Once you’ve added all your milk and it’s at a consistency that you’ll enjoy, your potato/onion mixture should be done so you’re going to pour that into the pot, add it slowly though just so you can stir it in and it will mix nicely (USE OVEN MITS WHEN YOU GET THE BOWL OUT OF THE MICROWAVE OR YOU WILL DROP THE BOWL DUE TO REFLEXES)

Now it’s time to add your seasoning/spices, I do this before I add the potato mixture, as well as after just to make sure there’s enough seasoning.  This is more of your own personal preference, so add as little, or as much as you’d like, but make sure you don’t add too much because you can’t undo that… so add a little at a time! If you aren’t sure how much to start with, try 1/2-1 teaspoon.

As far as salt goes: I never salt mine.  I leave that up to each person individually, but my mom suggests adding at least a teaspoon of salt. I always add salt to mine afterwards (again, I love carbs) but I would hate to ruin a perfectly good recipe by going overboard on the salt.

final product

The great thing about baking/cooking is that you can add as much or as little as you’d like for whatever ingredient.  For example, my boyfriend doesn’t like onions, so next time I’ll probably add a little less.  I went slightly overboard… but I loved it!

COMFY FALL OUTFIT OF THE DAY:

shirt mirror

body

shoes

I love this outfit because it’s not bummy looking, but it’s really comfortable (three cheers for leggings) and the gold plate really adds to the outfit, dressing it up a little, as well as the texture of the flat.

  • Plaid shirt: Urban Outfitters
  • Black leggings: Gap
  • Shoes: Call it Springs

I threw my hair into a high ponytail because 1) I was cooking and nothing is worse than someone finding a hair in their food and 2) I liked it!

Leave a Reply

