CUT 5 INCHES OFF!

I’ve been growing my hair out for years and I mean YEARS, people.

Sophomore in high school:

  • about 8 years ago (which makes me want to vomit)
  • cut my long hair up to my shoulders
  • mistake from the get go

I thought, “if I cut my hair short, I can put it in cute, little pig tails.”  Well, they literally were pig tails because they were nearly microscopic.  Not to mention, people made fun of me for having short hair.  Typical high school shit.  SMH.  Since that moment I had been growing my hair out.  It kept growing and growing, I was kind of like Rapunzel.  Every couple of months I would go get the ends trimmed so my hair would remain healthy and continue growing.  It was down to my waist!  And that’s how I liked it.  Some of my friends would tell me constantly to cut my hair and I refused.  My mom said I looked like I was mormon.  That’s okay.  My hair was kind of like a security blanket for me.  I had also been striving to get it to be all one length, primarily so I could fishtail it and no random ends would stick out and be ugly.

This went on for years, “you need to cut your hair.” “No.”  You could say maybe I had a problem? Or you could say they had a problem.  It pissed me off.. it’s my hair…..

Eventually I grew tired of how long my hair was, as much as I loved it, it was constantly annoying me.  Like it would get stuck in my backpack.  That was my main issue with it.  It’s 90 degrees out, I’m carrying a 50 pound bag all over the place and I had to keep repositioning where my hair was laying because it would get caught under the straps.  That’s when I decided…. it has to go.  Not all of it, but some of it.  I even went to a completely different hair dresser.  Not the same lady I had been seeing for the past 10 years (I’m sorry)  I still feel really bad, like I betrayed her, but a girls gotta do what a girls gotta do.

I told her I wanted to cut 5 inches off and I was so happy with the end product.  Although it’s just a pretty normal haircut, it was a BIG STEP for me.

BEFORE:

Hair 4 blog

AFTER:

hair number 2 4 blog

final hair

Leave a Reply

